Skip to main content
Pitcher of the Year Watch List trimmed to 25
Updated list features just two freshmen, three sophomores


LUBBOCK, Texas -- As the postseason approaches, the watch list for the National College Baseball Hall of Fame's Pitcher of the Year Award has been narrowed to 25 players from across the country.

The Pitcher of the Year Award, sponsored by Diamond, will be presented on June 29 in Lubbock as part of the annual Night of Champions.

While most of the pitchers on the newest watch list are upperclassmen, there are also two freshmen -- Louisville's Brendan McKay and LSU's Alex Lange -- and three sophomores -- Maryland's Mike Shawaryn, South Florida's Tommy Peterson and George Washington's Eddie Muhl, who leads the watch list in saves with 16.

"Despite being young, each of these pitchers has made major contributions to their teams," said Chris Snead, Pitcher of the Year Award co-chair. "Not only do we look forward to seeing what they can accomplish during the rest of this season, but what they will accomplish in the future as well."

Vanderbilt right-hander Carson Fulmer continues to lead the watch list in strikeouts with 118 in 86 2/3 innings. College of Charleston right-hander Taylor Clarke is close behind with 117 strikeouts in 92 2/3 innings pitched.

Texas Tech senior right-hander Corey Taylor has the lowest earned run average on the watch list at 0.36 in 50 innings pitched in 17 appearances.

"So many of these pitchers have been unbelievably consistent all season," said award co-chair Raymond Richardson. "It should be exciting to see how they fare as we move into postseason play."

For more information on the Pitcher of the Year Award of the College Baseball Hall of Fame's Night of Champions, visit







Brendan McKay Louisville


Tommy Peterson South Florida

American Athletic

Carson Cross UConn

American Athletic

Eddie Muhl George Washington

Atlantic 10

Kevin Duchene Illinois

Big Ten

Tyler Jay Illinois

Big Ten

Mike Shawaryn Maryland

Big Ten

Josh Roeder Nebraska

Big Ten

Michael Freeman Oklahoma State

Big 12

Riley Ferrell TCU

Big 12

Preston Morrison TCU

Big 12

Alex Young TCU

Big 12

Corey Taylor Texas Tech

Big 12

Taylor Clarke College of Charleston


James McMahon Southern Mississippi

Conference USA

Adam Whitt Nevada

Mountain West

Ryan Burr Arizona State


David Berg UCLA


Luke Gillingham Navy


Alex Lange LSU


Grayson Long Texas A&M


Carson Fulmer Vanderbilt


Stuart Holmes Nicholls State


Justin Sinibaldi Nicholls State


Joseph Camacho Alabama State





The Hall of Famers

Calendar & Events