Skip to main content
2017 Brooks Wallace Award Watch List semifinalists announced
Semifinalists putting up impressive numbers at the plate, in the field


LUBBOCK, Texas -- A mixture of veterans and underclassmen highlight the 13 semifinalist selections for the 2017 Brooks Wallace Award, the College Baseball Foundation announced Thursday.

The award, sponsored by Mizuno, honors the nation's top shortstop and will be presented this summer by the College Baseball Foundation. It is named for former Texas Tech shortstop Brooks Wallace, who played for the Red Raiders from 1977 to 1980. Wallace died of leukemia at the age of 27.

"Each one of these semifinalists exhibits the qualities we seek each year in the Brooks Wallace Award winner -- leadership, a willingness to excel, steadfastness and a great attitude," said Tom Quigley, a member of the award selection committee and former teammate of Wallace. "Brooks was a special player and teammate, and we look forward to seeing how these semifinalists finish out the season."

Junior Kevin Merrell from South Florida leads the group in terms of batting average, hitting .403 for the Bulls to go with his five home runs and 24 RBI. He has committed just seven errors on the year and holds a .951 fielding percentage.

He is being pushed by sophomore Nick Madrigal from No. 1 Oregon State. Madrigal is hitting .373 with three home runs and 23 RBI, while committing just four errors for a .977 fielding percentage.

The semifinalists also are showing some impressive power numbers. Sophomore Jeremy Eierman from Missouri State leads the group with 17 home runs and 50 RBI along with a .349 batting average, seven errors and a.962 fielding percentage. Houston's Jake Scheiner is hitting .362 with 13 home runs and 42 RBI to go with a .956 fielding percentage (eight errors), while Texas Tech junior Orlando Garcia is hitting .306 with 11 home runs and 52 RBI. He has committed just four errors for a .978 fielding percentage.

"Since the inception of this award, we've had the opportunity to recognize tremendous talent at the shortstop position, and 2017 is no different," award co-chairman Tyler Young said. "We have seen a great deal of skill from across the country, and we join them in celebrating their success."






Jax Biggers



Michael Brdar


Big Ten

Jeremy Eierman

Missouri State

Missouri Valley

Orlando Garcia

Texas Tech

Big 12

Ryan Gridley

Mississippi State


Devin Hairston



Nico Hoerner



Nick Madrigal

Oregon State


Kevin Merrell

South Florida


Zach Rutherford

Old Dominion

Conference USA

Jake Scheiner



Sahid Valenzuela

Cal State Fullerton

Big West

Logan Warmoth

North Carolina




The Hall of Famers