Skip to main content
2015 Pitcher of the Year Award semifinalists announced


LUBBOCK, Texas -- After 56 regular-season games and conference tournaments, the semifinalist list for the National College Baseball Hall of Fame's Pitcher of the Year Award features two players from one school and multiple representatives from several powerhouse conferences.

The Pitcher of the Year Award, sponsored by Diamond, will be presented on June 29 in Lubbock as part of the annual Night of Champions.

Tyler Jay, a junior left-hander from Illinois, is 5-1 with a 0.64 ERA and 13 saves in 56 1/3 innings. Jay is joined by his teammate, left-hander Kevin Duchene, who has a 10-1 record in 13 starts. Duchene has a 1.30 ERA and 85 strikeouts in 89 2/3 innings.

"Throughout the season, there have been several schools that had dominate pitching, but for a single school to still have more than one player on the list now that we've reached the semifinalist stage is very impressive," said Raymond Richardson, Pitcher of the Year Award co-chair. "The fact that a pair of lefties are leading one of the hottest teams in the country headed into the postseason is an interesting dynamic."

College of Charleston junior Taylor Clarke and Vanderbilt junior Carson Fulmer are tied for the strikeout lead among the semifinalists with 136. Clark also has a 1.34 ERA and a 13-1 record in 107 1/3 innings over 16 appearances. He also has one save. Fulmer has a 1.97 ERA to go with his 11-2 record in 100 2/3 innings over 15 appearances.

"To have one player with that many strikeouts would be remarkable enough, let alone having two guys with that many Ks on the season," said Chris Snead, Pitcher of the Year Award co-chair. "It should be fun to see how the postseason plays out."

For more information on the Pitcher of the Year Award of the College Baseball Hall of Fame's Night of Champions, visit







Matthew Crownover Clemson


Kevin Duchene Illinois

Big Ten

Tyler Jay Illinois

Big Ten

Mike Shawaryn Maryland

Big Ten

Michael Freeman Oklahoma State

Big 12

Alex Young TCU

Big 12

Thomas Eshelman Cal State Fullerton

Big West

Taylor Clarke College of Charleston


James McMahon Southern Mississippi

Conference USA

Matt Hall Missouri State

Missouri Valley

David Berg UCLA


Luke Gillingham Navy


Alex Lange LSU


Carson Fulmer Vanderbilt


Grayson Long Texas A&M


Justin Sinibaldi Nicholls State





The Hall of Famers

Calendar & Events