Skip to main content
2017 Pitcher of the Year Award semifinalists announced
Low earned-run averages, high strikeout totals prevalent among Pitcher of the Year semifinalists


LUBBOCK, Texas -- Power arms and potential top draft picks highlight the list of 21 semifinalists for the Pitcher of the Year Award presented by the College Baseball Foundation.

Among the list are some of the top statistical leaders in the country, such as JB Bukauskas from North Carolina, Morgan Cooper from Texas, Alex Faedo from Florida, Luke Heimlich from Oregon State and Brendan McKay from Louisville as well as up-and-coming underclassmen including Steven Gingery from Texas Tech, Jake Irvin from Oklahoma, Jared Janczak from TCU and Casey Mize from Auburn.

"As we get closer to the end of the regular season, we are seeing a clearer picture of who has really set themselves apart from the field," said award co-chairman Brian Melakian. "I have been surprised by the strong seasons we are seeing from some schools on the West Coast, especially in the Pacific Northwest."

Oregon State, which has held the No. 1 spot in most polls for the majority of the season, actually has two hurlers on the semifinalist list, both juniors. Jake Thompson is 9-0 with a 1.07 ERA and 78 strikeouts in 76 innings, while Heimlich is 7-1 with an 0.71 ERA and 99 strikeouts in 88 innings.

Right behind Oregon State is North Carolina, led by Bukauskas. The junior is 8-0 with a 1.51 ERA and 96 strikeouts in 72 innings. Oregon junior David Peterson is the only 10-game winner so far (statistics were prior to May 4 games), while compiling a 1.99 ERA and 117 strikeouts in 81 innings.

But it's not limited to just the big schools. Loyola Marymount's Cory Abbott is 9-1 with a 1.84 ERA and 88 strikeouts in 73 innings pitched.

Relievers also are making a big impact.

Brian Glowicki leads the closers on the list, amassing 15 saves to go with his 2-1 record and 2.16 ERA, striking out 30 in 25 innings. Ryan Netemeyer at Southern Illinois is 1-0 with 14 saves and 25 strikeouts to go with a 1.11 ERA in 24.1 innings. Wyatt Burns from Samford is 3-0 with 12 saves and a 2.94 ERA, striking out 31 in 33.2 innings.

"We believe this is an outstanding group of pitchers who are delivering quality outings each week in very competitive leagues," said award co-chairman Chris Snead.

For more information on the Pitcher of the Year Award of the College Baseball Hall of Fame's Night of Champions, visit






Cory Abbott Loyola Marymount

West Coast

JB Bukauskas North Carolina


Wyatt Burns Samford


JC Cloney Arizona


Morgan Cooper Texas

Big 12

Alex Cunningham Coastal Carolina

Sun Belt

Heath Donica Sam Houston State


Alex Faedo Florida


Lucas Gilbreath Minnesota

Big Ten

Steven Gingery Texas Tech

Big 12

Brian Glowicki Minnesota

Big Ten

Luke Heimlich Oregon State


Jake Irvin Oklahoma

Big 12

Jared Janczak TCU

Big 12

Brendan McKay Louisville


Casey Mize Auburn


Sean Mooney St. John's

Big East

Eli Morgan Gonzaga

West Coast

Ryan Netemeyer Southern Illinois

Missouri Valley

David Peterson Oregon


Jake Thompson Oregon State





The Hall of Famers

Calendar & Events