Skip to main content
Top 25 pitchers honored on new watch list
Appel, Minor, Wacha added as update trims finalists to 25

LUBBOCK, Texas —The College Baseball Hall of Fame announced Friday the 25 pitchers on the newest edition of the Pitcher of the Year Award Watch List.

The winner of the Pitcher of the Year Award, sponsored by Diamond Sports, will be announced on June 30 in Lubbock, Texas, as part of the annual College Baseball Night of Champions. The event features the presentation of numerous awards and the induction ceremony for this year’s Hall of Fame class.

“The pitchers on this list continue to demonstrate excellence on the mound,” said award co-chair Landon Holly. “As we’ve progressed through the season, we’ve been able to narrow down the list, but we’ve also added some players who’ve excelled in the second half of the regular season.”

Joining the list are Stanford junior Mark Appel, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi junior Daniel Minor and Texas A&M junior Michael Wacha.

“We try to evaluate the pitchers on the watch list every week to see how their statistics have changed and make decisions about how the list should change,” said co-chair Justin Knowles. “As the season has gone on, we feel like these 25 young men have proven themselves worthy of inclusion on this list, and we look forward to seeing how they finish out the season.”

Florida Atlantic junior right-hander R.J. Alvarez boasts a 0.53 ERA, the lowest of the 25 pitchers on the new watch list. He also has five wins and eight saves on the season. Chris Rowley, a right-handed pitcher at Army, has 11 victories in 13 starts heading into this weekend’s action.

Arizona State, Baylor, North Carolina and Texas A&M all feature two players on the Top 25 list. The Big 12 leads all conferences with five players on the newest list. The Pac-12 and SEC each have four representatives.


Michael Morin North Carolina ACC
R.C. Orlan North Carolina ACC
Carlos Rodon North Carolina State ACC
Alex Alemann Saint Louis University Atlantic 10
Michael Lorenzen Cal State Fullerton Big West
Trent Blank Baylor Big 12
Josh Turley Baylor Big 12
Andrew Heaney Oklahoma State Big 12
Ross Stripling Texas A&M Big 12
Michael Wacha Texas A&M Big 12
Matthew Reckling Rice Conference USA
Nick Petree Missouri State Missouri Valley
Kurt Heyer Arizona PAC-12
Brady Rodgers Arizona State PAC-12
Trevor Williams Arizona State PAC-12
Mark Appel Stanford PAC-12
Chris Rowley Army Patriot
Corey Littrell Kentucky SEC
Kevin Gausman LSU SEC
Chris Stratton Mississippi State SEC
Michael Roth South Carolina SEC
Daniel Minor Texas A&M-Corpus Christi Southland
Travis Ballew Texas State Southland
R.J. Alvarez Florida Atlantic University Sun Belt
Michael Wagner University of San Diego West Coast Conference

The Hall of Famers

Calendar & Events