Skip to main content
Top 10 two-way players in running for Olerud Award
Cal State Fullerton's Michael Lorenzen features lowest ERA at 1.29

LUBBOCK, Texas -- Stellar ERAs and impressive batting averages are hallmarks of the 10 players on the newest watch list for the John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award, announced Wednesday by the College Baseball Hall of Fame.

The award, named for the Washington State star who achieved success as both a first baseman and a right-handed pitcher, will be presented as part of the annual College Baseball Night of Champions on June 30 in Lubbock, Texas. The event features the presentation of numerous awards and the induction ceremony for this year’s Hall of Fame class.

“These players have impressive numbers at the plate and on the mound,” said Randy Norman, Olerud Award co-chair. “These athletes are contributing to their teams’ success in so many ways. It’s great to see how they have progressed through the season.”

The top 10 features six sophomores, a freshman, two juniors and a senior. The lone senior on the list, Army’s Kevin McKague, leads the list in batting average at .385. He also has 15 doubles and five home runs to go with his 1.46 ERA.

Michael Lorenzen, a sophomore outfielder and right-handed pitcher at Cal State Fullerton, has the lowest ERA in the top 10 at 1.29. He has a 2-0 record with 16 saves.

Marco Gonzales, sophomore left-handed pitcher at Gonzaga, has a 1.70 ERA in 84 2/3 innings pitched, leading the top 10 in that category. He has a 7-2 record with 80 strikeouts while also playing first base and in the outfield for the Bulldogs.

“All of these guys have put up great numbers as the season has gone on,” said Aaron Thomas, award co-chair. “It’s great to see so many schools and conferences represented on this list and to see how many college baseball players really do have this ability to pitch and play in the field.”


Jacob Mayers Richmond Atlantic 10
Michael Lorenzen Cal State Fullerton Big West
Drew Reynolds East Carolina Conference USA
Stephen Piscotty Stanford Pac-12
Kevin McKague Army Patriot
Brian Johnson Florida SEC
Austin Maddox Florida SEC
A.J. Reed Kentucky SEC
C.K. Irby Samford Southern
Marco Gonzales Gonzaga West Coast

The Hall of Famers

Calendar & Events