Skip to main content
Brooks Wallace Award semifinalists announced
Diaz, Gomez, Mejia, Rodriguez, Vincej up for shortstop honor

LUBBOCK, Texas — The College Baseball Hall of Fame’s Brooks Wallace Award list has been narrowed to five shortstops.


Chris Diaz NC State
Anthony Gomez Vanderbilt
Alex Mejia Arizona
Richie Rodriguez Eastern Kentucky
Zach Vincej Pepperdine

The list will be narrowed to three finalists in Omaha and the winner of the Brooks Wallace Award will be named on June 30 in Lubbock, Texas, as part of College Baseball’s Night of Champions. The event also features the announcement of winners of the John Olerud Award and National Pitcher of the Year Award. The Johnny Bench Award, the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award and Dick Howser Trophy will also be presented, as well as the 2012 National College Baseball Hall of Fame inductions.

The Hall of Famers

Calendar & Events