Skip to main content
Olerud Award finalists announced
Gonzales, Johnson, Piscotty up for two-way honor

LUBBOCK, Texas -- The College Baseball Hall of Fame’s John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award list has been narrowed to three players.


Marco Gonzales Gonzaga
Brian Johnson Florida
Stephen Piscotty Stanford

Gonzales, a sophomore from Ft. Collins, Colo., batted .325 with two home runs, 29 RBIs and an OPS of .802. However, it was on the mound where he shone brightest, going 8-2 with a 1.55 ERA in 12 starts. He struck out 92 and walked only 23 in 92 2/3 innings and opponents batted .201 against him.

Johnson, a junior from Cocoa Beach, Fla., enters the College World Series batting .314 with six home runs, 41 RBIs and an OPS of .832. On the mound, he is 8-4 with a 3.56 ERA in 16 starts. The left-hander has struck out 68 and walked 15 in 86 innings, with opponents batting .242 against him. Johnson was chosen 31st overall by the Boston Red Sox in the 2012 First-Year Player Draft.

Piscotty, a junior from Pleasanton, Calif., ended the season batting .329 with five home runs and a team-leading 56 RBIs, with an OPS of .882. His season was shortened on the mound, but he finished with a 6-2 record and a 3.05 ERA over 12 games and four starts. He was selected 36th overall by the St. Louis Cardinals in the 2012 Draft.

The winner of the John Olerud Award will be named on June 30 in Lubbock, Texas, as part of College Baseball’s Night of Champions. The event also features the announcement of the winners of the National Pitcher of the Year and Brooks Wallace Award. The Johnny Bench Award, the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award and Dick Howser Trophy will also be presented as well as the 2012 National College Baseball Hall of Fame inductions.

The Hall of Famers

Calendar & Events