Skip to main content
Brooks Wallace Award finalists announced
Mejia, Rodriguez, Vincej up for shortstop honor

LUBBOCK, Texas — The College Baseball Hall of Fame’s Brooks Wallace Award list has been narrowed to three shortstops.


Alex Mejia Arizona
Richie Rodriguez Eastern Kentucky
Zach Vincej Pepperdine

Mejia, a junior from Sylmar, Calif., enters the College World Series with a fielding percentage of .957 and has taken part in 35 double plays with 13 errors. He is batting .361 with three home runs, 52 RBIs and an OPS of .889. He was picked in the fourth round (150th overall) by the St. Louis Cardinals in the 2012 First-Year Player Draft.

Rodriguez, a senior from Miami, finished with a fielding percentage of .938 and took part in 35 double plays with 17 errors. He batted .377 with 14 home runs, 46 RBIs and an OPS of 1.158. He was chosen in the ninth round by the New York Mets in the 2012 Draft.

Vincej, a junior from Saugus, Calif., finished with a fielding percentage of .986, taking part in 38 double plays with only four errors. He batted .339 with two home runs, 39 RBIs and an OPS of .848.

The winner of the Brooks Wallace Award will be named on June 30 in Lubbock, Texas, as part of College Baseball’s Night of Champions. The event also features the announcement of winners of the John Olerud Award and National Pitcher of the Year Award. The Johnny Bench Award, the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award and Dick Howser Trophy will also be presented, as well as the 2012 National College Baseball Hall of Fame inductions.

The Hall of Famers

Calendar & Events