Skip to main content
Voting underway for eighth Hall of Fame class
Largest ballot ever features 83 worthy candidates

LUBBOCK, Texas -- The National College Baseball Hall of Fame announced today that voting is now underway for the 2013 class of the National College Baseball Hall of Fame in Lubbock. The ballot to select this year's inductees features 83 worthy candidates.

"This is largest ballot we've ever had," said Mike Gustafson, executive director of the National College Baseball Hall of Fame. "With 83 nominees, the ballot offers a little bit of everything in terms of players and coaches from all eras and all levels of college baseball, from all over the country."

The five voting categories consist of the vintage-era (pre-1964) players and coaches, small school (non-NCAA Division I) players, small school (non-NCAA Division I) coaches, players from the 1964-2002 era, and NCAA Division I coaches.

The ballot is highlighted by 16 coaches with at least 1,000 wins, and 25 national players of the year.

For the fifth year, the ballot features players and coaches from NAIA, NCAA Divisions II and III, and two-year colleges. Eventual major league stars Tino Martinez and Alex Fernandez, as well as NCAA Division III "Coach of the Century" Don Schaly and Demie Mainieri, the first junior college coach to win 1,000 games, are featured in these categories.

"Last year, Tim Jorgensen of Wisconsin-Oshkosh was the first non-Division I player to be inducted," Gustafson said. "He was a two-time Division III National Player of the Year, so he will be a tough act to follow."

Schools from across the country are represented on the ballot, from Florida State University to Cal State Fullerton. Several schools have multiple candidates, led by USC with eight. The star-studded "1964-2002" portion of the ballot features 38 players, most of whom were multiple-time All-Americans and/or national players of the year.

The members of the 2013 College Baseball Hall of Fame class will be announced in early April once all the ballots have been tallied and the results verified. Those selected will join previous inductees including coaches Jerry Kindall of Arizona, Bob Bennett of Fresno State, Ron Polk of Mississippi State, Bobby Winkles of Arizona State and the late Rod Dedeaux of USC, and players Nomar Garciaparra of Georgia Tech, Barry Larkin of Michigan, John Olerud of Washington State, Derek Tatsuno of Hawaii and Danny Goodwin of Southern University.

The voting panel of approximately 210 members is composed of national and regional college baseball media, active and retired coaches, media and coaches from the "small school" category, a group of about a dozen former players, a group of "college baseball historians" and about 10 members of the Society for American Baseball Research collegiate baseball committee. Past College Baseball Hall of Fame inductees also vote.

To be eligible for the College Baseball Hall of Fame ballot, players must have completed one year of competition at a two-year or four-year institution and/or earned verifiable national acclaim. A coach must be retired for a full year or may be included on the ballot at the age of 75, if active.

This year's selections will again be joined by a player or coach to be chosen by the Black College Legends and Pioneers committee.

They will be inducted as part of the College Baseball Hall of Fame's "Night of Champions" event, which will take place on June 29 in Lubbock, Texas. 

For more information about the National College Baseball Hall of Fame, contact Mike Gustafson at


2013 College Baseball Hall of Fame Ballot


Tom Borland
Wyman Carey
Jack Coffey
Eddie Collins
Jay Dean
Clint Evans
Ray Fisher
Bill Freehan
Al Hartman
Gene Hooks
Elmer Kohorst
C.R. "Dudy" Noble
Rick Reichardt
Mickey Sullivan
Murray Wall 

Rusty Adkins
Bill Almon
Sal Bando
Earl Bass
Kris Benson
Bill Bordley
Jeff Brantley
Dave Chalk
Casey Close
Rich Dauer
Mike Fiore
Javier Flores
Mike Fuentes
Gary Gentry
Jim Gideon
Orlando Gonzalez
Jeffrey Hammonds
Reggie Jackson
Bobby Jones
Mike Kelly
Steve Kemp
Gene Larkin
Jeff Ledbetter
Bill Lee
Mike Loynd
Mark McGwire
Kevin McReynolds
Rick Monday
Phil Nevin
Gregg Olson
Tom Paciorek
Marteese Robinson
Roy Smalley
Ira Smith
Mike Smith
Brent Strom
Jason Varitek
Frank Viola

Small School Coach
Dave "Boo" Ferriss
Ric Lessman
Demie Mainieri
Jim Mallon
Art Mazmanian
Don Schaly
Lloyd Simmons
Tommy Thomas
Frank "Porky" Vieira

Small School Player
Joe Arnold
Doug Ault
Tom Brennan
Tim Burzette
John Deutsch
Alex Fernandez
Sittichoke Huckuntod
Russell Martin
Tino Martinez
Ken Ritter
Joe Thomas
Ken Voges

Pete Butler
Norm DeBriyn
Chuck Hartman
Larry Hays
Richard "Itchy" Jones
Les Murakami
Al Ogletree
Jack Stallings
John Winkin

The Hall of Famers

Calendar & Events