Skip to main content
Pitcher of the Year Award finalists announced
Berg, Gray, Nola in running to be named nation's top hurler


LUBBOCK, Texas -- The National College Baseball Hall of Fame's National Pitcher of the Year Award watch list has been narrowed to three. The 2013 finalists are David Berg of UCLA, Jonathan Gray of Oklahoma and Aaron Nola of LSU.

Berg enters the College World Series as the NCAA Division I leader with a miniscule 0.88 ERA. His 7-0 record and 21 saves in 46 appearances earned him Pac-12 Pitcher of the Year hon­ors and have placed him among the list of finalists for the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award.

Gray, a junior from Chandler, Okla., was the third overall pick by the Colorado Rockies in last week's MLB First-Year Player Draft. He finished the season ranked second in strikeouts with 147 and had a WHIP of 0.85. He was a semifinalist for both the Dick Howser Trophy and Golden Spikes Award.

Nola, a sophomore from Baton Rouge, La., is fresh off a dominating two-hitter against Oklahoma in the Super Regional, which upped his record to 12-0 and lowered his ERA to 1.68. The Tigers are 15-1 in his starts.

The winner of the National Pitcher of the Year Award will be named on June 29 in Lubbock, Texas, as part of the College Baseball Night of Champions. The event also features the an­nouncements of winners of the John Olerud Award and Brooks Wallace Award. The Johnny Bench Award and Dick Howser Trophy are also presented, as well as the 2013 National College Baseball Hall of Fame inductions.




The Hall of Famers

Calendar & Events