Skip to main content
John Olerud Award finalists announced
Ford, Gonzales, Lorenzen are top two-way players

LUBBOCK, Texas -- The National College Baseball Hall of Fame's John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award watch list has been narrowed to three players. This year's finalists are Mike Ford of Princeton, Marco Gonzales of Gonzaga and Michael Lorenzen of Cal State Fullerton.

Ford, the Ivy League Player and Pitcher of the Year, batted .320 with six home runs and 38 RBIs. On the mound he finished 6-0 with a 0.98 ERA. He was a three-time All-Ivy selection and was a semifi­nalist for the Gregg Olson Award.

Gonzales, the first-round pick of the St. Louis Cardinals, led Gonzaga with 106 innings pitched and finished 7-3 with a 2.80 ERA. At the plate he led the Zags with a .311 batting average. For his efforts he was named West Coast Conference Co-Player of the Year.

Lorenzen was drafted with the 38th overall pick by the Reds in last week's MLB First-Year Player Draft. He batted .335 with a team-leading seven home runs and 54 RBIs for super-regional participant Cal State Fullerton. On the mound, he fashioned a 1.99 ERA with a 3-0 record and 19 saves.

The winner of the John Olerud Award will be named on June 29 in Lubbock, Texas, as part of College Baseball's Night of Champions. The event also features the announcement of the win­ners of the National Pitcher of the Year and Brooks Wallace Award. The Johnny Bench Award and Dick Howser Trophy are also presented, as well as the 2013 National College Baseball Hall of Fame inductions.

The Hall of Famers

Calendar & Events