Skip to main content
Dickson wins inaugural Bertman Award
Gloucester County skipper named National Coach of the Year



LUBBOCK, Texas -- The College Baseball Hall of Fame is proud to announce Gloucester County College coach Mike Dickson as the 2013 Skip Bertman National Coach of the Year.


Dickson coached the team to a National Junior College Athletic Association Division III championship in 2013 and finished the season with a 49-3 overall record and a 15-1 conference record.

He also coached three NJCAA Division III First-Team All-Americans and had a player picked up during the 2013 Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft.

"I'm at a loss for words," Dickson said. "To be mentioned in the same breath as Skip Bertman, who was truly a great college baseball coach, it's a tremendous honor to win this award."

The award, sponsored by Easton-Bell Sports, is named for Bertman, who coached at LSU from 1984 to 2001. During his tenure, he won five national championships and was named National Coach of the Year six times. He coached 31 players who went on to play Major League Baseball and was inducted into the College Baseball Hall of Fame as part of the inaugural class in 2006. Since that time, three of his players have joined him in the Hall of Fame.

For more information on the College Baseball Hall of Fame's Night of Champions, contact the Hall of Fame at (806) 749-CBF3 or visit



The Hall of Famers

Calendar & Events