Skip to main content
Hall of Fame celebrates newest members
Night of Champions features Class of 2013 induction

LUBBOCK, Texas -- Baseball champions of yesterday and today gathered here Saturday for the College Baseball Hall of Fame's Night of Champions, where seven new members were inducted.

The distinguished baseball players honored and inducted into the Hall of Fame during the Night of Champions include Arizona State third baseman Sal Bando; Oklahoma State pitcher Tom Borland; Grambling State second baseman Ralph Garr; University of Tampa first baseman Tino Martinez; Marietta College coach Don Schaly; USC shortstop Roy Smalley; and Colby College, Maine and Husson College coach John Winkin.

Bando is one of eight Arizona State Sun Devils to be inducted into the College Baseball Hall of Fame, including his coach, Bobby Winkles.

"The journey of getting to Arizona State started to sink in, and I was just hoping to compete, let alone get inducted into the College Baseball Hall of Fame," he said. "It's truly been a blessing."

One of the inductees said not only was it an honor to have been able to play college baseball, but to then be awarded for it, as well.

"I really enjoyed my college career at the University of Tampa," Martinez said. "This is the last thing I ever dreamed of and [never] thought this would happen."

John Schaly represented his father, the late Don Schaly, and said his dad was a very humble man who would not have taken the credit had he been able to accept the award.

"He built a great legacy, and that will be something to remember for many years to come. And as a Family, we're very proud of everything he did," he said.

The late Tom Borland's family also represented him during the Night of Champions, and his daughter, Jana King, said the College Baseball Hall of Fame helped her family realize the impact her father had on college baseball.

"This is just a great time for us to honor his history and his accomplishments," she said. "To be honest, a lot of times we referred more to his professional career, so it was very educational for us -- I have three older brothers -- to learn about his college career and the amazing things he did there."

A few of the inductees discussed the recognition the College Baseball Hall of Fame has been able to give to college baseball.

"I think baseball is really gaining momentum at being the No. 1 sport, and I hope that continues, and I think what they're doing here in Lubbock is a wonderful thing," Garr said.

Those also honored during the Night of Champions included LSU's Alex Bregman, the Brooks Wallace Shortstop of the Year; Oklahoma's Jonathan Gray, the Pitcher of the Year; Gonzaga's Marco Gonzales, the John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year; Ole Miss' Stuart Turner, the Johnny Bench Award winner; Gloucester County College coach Mike Dickson, the Skip Bertman National Coach of the Year; and Dale Williams, the National Collegiate Umpire Award winner.

The Hall of Famers

Calendar & Events