Skip to main content
Voting underway for ninth Hall of Fame class
2014 ballot features 82 worthy candidates

LUBBOCK, Texas -- The National College Baseball Hall of Fame has announced that voting is now underway for the 2014 class of the National College Baseball Hall of Fame in Lubbock. The ballot to select this year's inductees features 82 worthy candidates.

"This ballot is loaded again," said Mike Gustafson, president/CEO of the National College Baseball Hall of Fame. "It features the coach with more Division I wins than any other in Gene Stephenson, as well as the owner of one of the great single seasons in history in Lance Berkman."

The five voting categories consist of the vintage-era (pre-1964) players and coaches, small-school (non-NCAA division I) players, small-school (non-NCAA division I) coaches, players from the 1964-2001 era and NCAA Division I coaches.

The ballot is highlighted by numerous coaches with at least 1,000 wins and multiple national titles, as well as dozens of players who were All-Americans and recognized National Players of the Year.

The process will again be complimented by the Black College Legends and Pioneer committee voting, and the National Collegiate Umpire Award balloting.

"We are so pleased to be recognizing all levels of college baseball," Gustafson said. "The classes are often highlighted by the most recognized Division I names, but the HBCU legends and the outstanding umpires round out the class."

Schools from across the country are represented on the ballot, from Florida State University to Cal State Fullerton. Several schools have multiple candidates, led by USC with eight.

The members of the National College Baseball Hall of Fame class will be announced in early 2014 once all the ballots have been tallied and the results verified. Those selected will join previous inductees including coaches Gary Ward of Oklahoma State, Bob Bennett of Fresno State, Ron Polk of Mississippi State, Bobby Winkles of Arizona State and the late Rod Dedeaux of USC, and players Nomar Garciaparra of Georgia Tech, Barry Larkin of Michigan, Roy Smalley of Southern Cal, Derek Tatsuno of Hawaii and Danny Goodwin of Southern University.

The voting panel of approximately 210 members is composed of national and regional college baseball media, active and retired coaches, media and coaches from the "small school" category, a group of about a dozen former players, a group of "college baseball historians" and about 10 members of the Society for American Baseball Research collegiate baseball committee. Past College Baseball Hall of Fame inductees also vote.

To be eligible for the National College Baseball Hall of Fame ballot, players must have one year of competition at a two- or four-year institution and/or earned verifiable national acclaim. A coach must be retired or may be included on the ballot at the age of 75, if still active.

They will be inducted as part of the National College Baseball Hall of Fame's "Night of Champions" event, which will take place on June 28 in Lubbock, Texas.

For more information about the National College Baseball Hall of Fame, contact Mike Gustafson at


2014 College Baseball Hall of Fame Ballot


Wyman Carey
Jack Coffey
Eddie Collins
Jay Dean
Clint Evans
Ray Fisher
Bill Freehan
Al Hartman
Wally Hood  
Gene Hooks
Elmer Kohorst
Art Mazmanian
Rick Reichardt
Mickey Sullivan
Murray Wall

Rusty Adkins
Bill Almon
Earl Bass  
Kris Benson
Lance Berkman
Bill Bordley
Kip Bouknight
Jeff Brantley
Dave Chalk
Casey Close
Rich Dauer
Mike Fiore
Javier Flores
Mike Fuentes
Gary Gentry
Jim Gideon
Orlando Gonzalez
Jeffrey Hammonds
Reggie Jackson
Bobby Jones
Mike Kelly
Steve Kemp
Gene Larkin
Jeff Ledbetter
Bill Lee
Mike Loynd
Mark McGwire
Kevin McReynolds
Rick Monday
Phil Nevin
Gregg Olson
Tom Paciorek
Marteese Robinson
Ira Smith
Mike Smith
Brent Strom
Frank Viola

Small School Coach
Dave "Boo" Ferriss
Bill Holowaty
Ric Lessman
Demie Mainieri
Jim Mallon
Dick Rockwell
Tommy Thomas
Frank "Porky" Vieira

Small School Player
Joe Arnold
Doug Ault
Tom Brennan
Tim Burzette
John Deutsch
Alex Fernandez
Sittichoke Huckuntod
Russell Martin
Lloyd Peever
Ken Ritter
Joe Thomas
Ken Voges

Pete Butler
Norm DeBriyn
Chuck Hartman
Larry Hays
Fred Hill
Richard "Itchy" Jones
Les Murakami
Al Ogletree
Jack Stallings 
Gene Stephenson

The Hall of Famers

Calendar & Events