Skip to main content
Sixteen shortstops in contention for Wallace Award
ACC, SEC headline newest watch list with three honorees each


LUBBOCK, Texas -- The new watch list for the Brooks Wallace Shortstop of the Year Award is dominated by two conferences that each feature three representatives on the list.

The Brooks Wallace Award, sponsored by Mizuno, recognizes the nation's top shortstop and will be presented during the National College Baseball Hall of Fame's Night of Champions on June 28 in Lubbock, Texas.

"It is not only the skills demonstrated on the field, but how these players represent themselves off the field which is what makes the Brooks Wallace Award so powerful," said Steve Mikolajczak, team sports division manager, Mizuno USA. "The group of players nominated for the award represent what it means to be a top baseball player and teammate."

The ACC and SEC each feature three players on the list. All other conferences represented feature one player.

"Those are two very dominant conferences in college baseball," said Larry Wallace, award co-chair. "We have followed the numbers put up by players across the country all season, and the names on this list represent the best of the best."

The ACC representatives are Michael Russell, North Carolina; Blake Schmit, Maryland; and Trea Turner, North Carolina State. The SEC players are 2013 Wallace Award winner Alex Bregman, LSU; Vince Conde, Vanderbilt; and Mikey White, Alabama.

Tennessee Tech junior Dylan Bosheers leads the watch list in batting average at .380. He also has 13 doubles, one triple and 10 home runs to go with his .970 fielding percentage.

Two players on the list are tied for the highest fielding percentage. Mercer's Michael Massi and Indiana State's Tyler Wampler both have a .981 fielding percentage. Massi also has a .354 batting average, while Wampler has a .293 average.

"These guys have played in so many games and had so many chances at their position that such a high fielding percentage is impressive," said Tyler Young, Wallace Award co-chair. "Many of their seasons are continuing with postseason play, and, while that's not necessarily a factor in determining a winner, it will be fun to see their continued success."

For more information on the Brooks Wallace Award or the National College Baseball Hall of Fame's Night of Champions, visit





Blake Schmit



Michael Russell

North Carolina


Trea Turner

North Carolina State


Pat Sweeney


American Athletic

Michael Massi


Atlantic Sun

D.J. Ruhlman

Seton Hall

Big East

Dalton Britt


Big South

Peter Van Gansen

Cal Poly

Big West

Tyler Wampler

Indiana State

Missouri Valley

Sam Haggerty

New Mexico

Mountain West

Dylan Bosheers

Tennessee Tech

Ohio Valley

Mikey White



Alex Bregman



Vince Conde



Blake Trahan

Louisiana - Lafayette

Sun Belt

Kyle Holder

San Diego

West Coast



The Hall of Famers

Calendar & Events