Skip to main content
Brooks Wallace Award finalists announced
Conde, Trahan, Turner in running to be named top shortstop

LUBBOCK, Texas -- The National College Baseball Hall of Fame's Brooks Wallace Award watch list has been narrowed to three shortstops. The finalists for this year's award are Vince Conde of Vanderbilt, Blake Trahan of Louisiana-Lafayette and Trea Turner of North Carolina State.

"These three players have put up consistently good numbers all season," said Larry Wallace, award co-chair. "We have followed them closely, and it's been fun to see their success continue into conference and postseason play."

The Brooks Wallace Award, sponsored by Mizuno, recognizes the nation's top shortstop and will be presented during the National College Baseball Hall of Fame's Night of Champions on June 28 in Lubbock, Texas.

"This year presented us with yet another talented pool of finalists for the Brooks Wallace Award, and Mizuno is proud to have the opportunity to recognize these athletes," said Steve Mikolajczak, team sports division brand manager, Mizuno USA. "The leadership, enthusiasm and passion for team exhibited by each of these players is contagious and truly embodies the spirit of the award. The selection committee has a difficult task ahead to narrow this list to just one."

Conde, a junior from Oviedo, Fla., enters the College World Series having made only four errors. Named first-team All-SEC shortstop, he batted .303 with four home runs, 47 RBIs and 12 stolen bases. He was drafted by the New York Yankees in the ninth round.

Trahan, a sophomore from Kinder, La., batted .355 with four home runs, 49 RBIs and 45 runs scored. He was named Most Outstanding Player at the Sun Belt Conference tournament and will play for the USA Baseball Collegiate National Team this summer.

Turner, a junior from Lake Worth, Fla., set school records for stolen bases with 57 during his freshman year and 117 in three seasons. He boasts a .321 batting average, eight home runs, 36 RBIs and 26 stolen bases. He was drafted 13th overall by the San Diego Padres in the First-Year Player Draft.

"Each of these young men put up good numbers both at the plate and in the field," said Tyler Young, award co-chair. "Their success has been recognized by their conferences and Major League Baseball, and we're thrilled to be able to recognize them as well."

The Night of Champions event also features the announcement of the winners of the National Pitcher of the Year and the John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award, as well as the 2014 National College Baseball Hall of Fame inductions. The winners of the Johnny Bench Award and the Dick Howser Trophy also will be recognized.

For more information on the Brooks Wallace Award or the National College Baseball Hall of Fame's Night of Champions, visit


The Hall of Famers

Calendar & Events