Skip to main content

Heimlich wins 2018 Pitcher of the Year Award

Left-hander Luke Heimlich continued the recent tradition of elite pitching at Oregon State this season. After a season in which he finished 16-1 with a 2.32 ERA, the southpaw was named the 2018 National Pitcher of the Year. More »

About the Award

The Pitcher of the Year award, college baseball's version of the Cy Young Award which was created in 2009, is given annually to the nation's top collegiate pitcher.

Pitcher of the Year Award Winners

  • 2017: SP Steven Gingery - Texas Tech

    Texas Tech southpaw Steven Gingery put together an impressive breakout campaign to earn the 2017 Pitcher of the Year Award. Gingery compiled a 10-1 record and 1.58 ERA with 107 strikeouts in 91 1/3 innings for the Red Raiders. Video »

  • 2016: SP Eric Lauer - Kent State

    Kent State left-hander Eric Lauer finished the season with a remarkable 0.69 ERA, the lowest by a Division I starting pitcher in nearly 40 years. Lauer posted a 10-2 record and allowed just eight earned runs over 104 innings pitched. Video »

  • 2015: SP Carson Fulmer - Vanderbilt

    Vanderbilt junior Carson Fulmer captured the Southeastern Conference triple crown in 2015, finishing first in the league in wins (14), ERA (1.83) and strikeouts (167) while also leading the SEC in inning pitched (127 2/3). Video »

  • 2014: SP Aaron Nola - LSU

    Aaron Nola earned the 2014 Pitcher of the Year Award with a remarkable 22-3 record and 1.47 ERA over 116 1/3 innings. He also tallied 134 strikeouts, yielded just four home runs and held opponents to a .172 batting average. Video »

  • 2013: SP Jonathan Gray - Oklahoma

    Selected third overall in the 2013 First-Year Player Draft, Oklahoma's Jonathan Gray earned the 2013 Pitcher of the Year Award after posting a 10-3 record with a 1.64 ERA over 126 1/3 innings pitched. Gray also led the Big 12 in strikeouts with 147 and held opponents to a .189 batting average. Video »

  • 2012: SP Mark Appel - Stanford

    Selected eighth overall in the 2012 First-Year Player Draft, Stanford's Mark Appel earned the 2012 Pitcher of the Year Award after posting a 10-2 record with a 2.56 ERA over 130 innings pitched. Appel also led the Pac-12 in strikeouts, striking out 10 or more hitters in eight of his 16 starts. Appel wins | Appel reacts »

  • 2011: SP Trevor Bauer - UCLA, Jr.

    Also named National Player of the Year by Collegiate Baseball and Baseball America, UCLA Bruin Trevor Bauer set a Pac-10 record for strikeouts in a season with 203, and compiled a 13-2 record with a 1.25 ERA on his way to being named Pitcher of the Year for the 2011 season. Bauer logged at least 10 strikeouts in 14 of his 16 starts. Bauer receives honor | Bauer on the award »

  • 2010: SP Alex Wimmers - Ohio State, Jr.

    Despite missing a month of the season due to injury, Wimmers posted a perfect 9-0 record in 2010, along with a 1.61 ERA in winning the 2010 Pitcher of the Year Award. In addition to the national recognition, Wimmers was named Big Ten Pitcher of the Year at the conclusion of the season, becoming the first back-to-back winner of that award in the history of the conference. Video »

  • 2009: SP Stephen Strasburg - San Diego State, Jr.

    In one of the finest collegiate seasons in history, the 6-foot-4, 220-pound right-hander won 13 consecutive decisions in posting a 13-1 record in 15 starts. For the season, Strasburg led the nation with a 1.32 ERA and 195 strikeouts, against 19 walks in 109 innings. He allowed only 65 hits and opponents hit just .172 with four home runs against him. Video »

Calendar & Events